Review: Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Title: Bitten (Women of the Otherworld #1)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published August 25th 2009 by Vintage Canada (First published October 1st 2001)

Own: Trade Paperback (422 pages)

Finished: August 21st 2013

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Living in Toronto for a year, Elena is leading the normal life she has always dreamed of, including a stable job as a journalist and a nice apartment shared with her boyfriend. As the lone female werewolf in existence, only her secret midnight prowls and her occasional inhuman cravings set her apart. Just one year ago, life was very different. Adopted by the Pack when bitten, Elena had spent years struggling with her resentment at having her life stolen away. Torn between two worlds, and overwhelmed by the new passions coursing through her body, her only option for control was to deny her awakening needs and escape.

But now the Pack has called Elena home to help them fight an alliance of renegade werewolves who are bent on exposing and annihilating the Pack. And although Elena is obliged to rejoin her “family,” she vows not to be swept up in Pack life again, no matter how natural it might feel. She has made her choice. Trouble is, she’s increasingly uncertain if it’s the right one.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

This review is a bit longer then the others I’m going to write because It’s my first one and I wanted to add a bit more of my story to it. This was Kelley Armstrong’s first novel ever published (which is hard to imagine now considering how many she has written!) and I first read this a few years ago when I purchased the whole series. I love supernatural stuff and werewolves are definitely among my top favourites so I decided to read it again because I found out that she was coming to my city on August 22nd 2013 to promote her new book “Omens”. My best friend Kelsey and I stood in line 3 hours for a Q&A and a book signing where I got Bitten, The Summoning, The Gathering and Omens signed. Her being one of my favourite authors, I was really excited to meet her and she was such a nice and sweet woman. I loved this book so much, I was completely immersed in it from the beginning which is why I purposely wrote my first book review on this novel. It’s also exciting because the TV show based on Bitten aired in January 2014, which my best friend and I watched religiously every week and loved (besides one specific twist that pissed us off).

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

The whole story is revolved around the narrator Elena who I really respect for being so tough and not taking anyone’s crap. The others we mainly read about are Clayton who is a total ass, but you can’t help but to sympathize with for some of the things that he went through, and Jeremy the pack leader who is hard to understand but is like a father figure to the whole pack. All the characters are likeable and have their own distinctive personality.

When you first start reading, you are thrown into it a bit but I liked that all the back-story you need is given in a way that’s easy to follow so you don’t feel like you’re missing out on anything. The main focus is on Elena and the struggles she faced when first becoming a werewolf, living a human life temporarily and then being thrown back into the life of protecting the Pack.

Her “human” life is based in Toronto, Ontario which I loved because it’s only a few hours away from where I live. A lot of the main characteristics that Toronto is known for were brought up which made visualizing it fairly easy. The rest of the time it is based in a fictional city in upper New York State, which took some imagination but was very well described.

This book takes you along for a ride, It’s super fun to read because there’s so many things that happen and it keeps you wondering constantly what’s going to happen next. I really enjoyed the way she describes the sex and violence because it reminds you that this isn’t a PG book, but it fits into it seamlessly without sounding like an action or erotic novel. The one thing that stuck in my mind from the start was her realistic sounding description of the human to werewolf transition, it was unlike anything I’ve ever read. I liked that this book and the characters were emotionally stimulating without being overly sentimental.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say because if you are looking for a really good werewolf story, this is perfect. If you like books about witches and mediums, you should read the rest of her series because it is amazing and you won’t be disappointed.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yay for seeing Kelley Armstrong! I love this book and series, as you know. I’m excited to see what you think of the rest of the books when you get to them. Great first review! Your pics at the top look cool too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (: