Review: The Fallen Star by Jessica Sorensen

#2 The Fallen Star

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Title: The Fallen Star (Fallen Star #1)

Author: Jessica Sorensen

Release Date/Publisher: Published April 11th 2011 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (First published April 7th 2011)

Own: Kindle (449 pages)

Finished: November 16th 2013

Series: Fallen Star

  1. The Fallen Star
  2. The Underworld
  3. The Vision
  4. The Promise

Spin-off series: The Fallen Souls

  1. The Lost Soul
  2. The Evanescence

Synopsis from GoodReads:

For eighteen year-old Gemma, life has never been normal. Up until recently, she has been incapable of feeling emotion. And when she’s around Alex, the gorgeous new guy at school, she can feel electricity that makes her skin buzz. Not to mention the monsters that haunt her nightmares have crossed over into real-life. But with Alex seeming to hate her and secrets popping up everywhere, Gemma’s life is turning into a chaotic mess. Things that shouldn’t be real suddenly seem to exist. And as her world falls apart, figuring out the secrets of her past becomes a matter of life and death.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

I had never read anything by this author before so when I read the synopsis I was really excited because it fit perfectly into the genre of books I like… Unfortunately, I struggled a lot with reading it, I was reading only a few pages at a time which ended up dragging on for nearly 2 months until I finally forced myself to finish it. I didn’t HATE it but it wasn’t what I expected and I was happy to be done with it because it took too long to read.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

Everything revolves around odd, socially awkward and purple-eyed Gemma who is trying to cope with feeling things for the first time in her life. For some reason, I just couldn’t connect with her and constantly found myself wondering how someone could be that annoying! Her attitude was a little too childish for me, especially how she acted when it came to her first crush and her ridiculously irrational temper tantrums. The tantrums were usually fuelled by Alex, the cocky “mysterious and sexy” guy with the equally vibrant green-coloured eyes. There was a lot of focus towards their weird electric “something” that passes between them when they touch (which was never really explained too well).

Most of the time they are running/hiding from the yellow-eyed demons while meeting people who help them keep Gemma alive. Along the way, Gemma learns more about her past and gets to know herself better. She discovers things that had always been kept secret her whole life by everyone around her, including her strict and emotionless family. There were many times that I got captivated in it but most of the time I found it to be repetitive and immature at certain points. I would have liked to have been consistently drawn in but unfortunately it left me wanting more.

Most of the story was in one main area (until near the end) but there weren’t enough details given about the locations/surroundings and because of that it didn’t seem realistic enough. While I understand that it’s fiction, I still wanted it to feel like this could actually happen in real life.

Although I didn’t enjoy this particular book as much as I thought I would, I will be reading the other books in the series. I actually want to see where the story goes because it seemed like it could be getting much more interesting. I also always like to read a few of an authors book rather then just writing them off as not liking their books.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I would probably have trouble with the character and the story based on your review, so I probably won’t read it. I do want to see what you think of rest of the series though!

    Like

  2. It was interesting to read your review of this – I just started reading the “adult” version of this series (yes, Sorensen took this book and changed the ages and setting a little to gives us an “adult” version). I wasn’t thrilled with the first 2 (and a half) of that series. I was planning on reading this version, but the more reviews I read the less I think I will. Keep up the good work – your intention with this blog is very similar to what I do with my blog! Hope you post tons of good stuff!

    Like

    • Haha, yeah I learned about that version after I read the book which kind of surprised me. I just recently got it for my kindle and I was holding it off until I forgot about this one to give it a fair shot. It’s too bad that you didn’t enjoy it so much but if It’s similar to this one I can kind of understand. Thank you very much, I’m definitely trying to post good stuff!

      Like

      • Giving time might help. Of course, dumb luck is that I started to read a totally different series while waiting for #3 of this one and that also talks about “star children” and powers (that one is the Cursed Magic series by Casey Odell, and that series isn’t great either). I had no idea the two series were going to be so similar. I am struggling to keep things straight. Should have stopped when I realized how similar they were and read something totally different for a while before trying to finish the installments I had!

        Like

      • Oh wow, that must have been really hard to keep track of. I try to never read anything similar for a little while because then I don’t remember what belongs to which story! It’s hard though when you read a synopsis that leaves important things out and you only realize it when you’re in the middle of reading it. Heh, yeah maybe so but you live and learn. It’s good to know about that other series you mentioned though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (: