Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

#4 Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Release Date/Publisher: Published June 4th 2013 by Quirk Books (First published in 2011)

Own: Trade Paperback (352 pages)

Finished: April 7th 2014

Series:

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)

Synopsis from GoodReads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

I was a little hesitant in picking this book up because I usually stick to a specific genre of book and a lot of the reviews/ratings weren’t the best. I’m glad I like to make up my own mind about things despite other people’s opinions because I actually really enjoyed it.  I was extremely impressed when I learned that this was his first novel because I found it to be very original and it was so well put together.

The first thing I’d like to say about it is that It’s not a scary book! I saw a lot of people complaining that they were disappointed it wasn’t because after reading the synopsis, they assumed it would be. I truly feel like the synopsis isn’t misleading and that it was dead on in giving a glimpse into the story because It makes the book sound mysterious which is perfect.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

Jacob grew up believing in stories his grandfather Abraham always told him (who swore were true) but once he was old enough that he couldn’t possibly believe in them, it left him a doubtful and anti-social teenager. This whole book is Jacob’s mission to discover if his grandfather was making all of this up or if there was any truth to his stories by exploring this secluded village-like island. I enjoyed the characters a lot because they really were unique in their own way with eccentric and entertaining personalities. There’s a good amount of characters but thankfully It’s not confusing because the main focus is always on only 2-3 at a time.

I like the mysterious feel to this book because you never know what’s going to happen and are always kept wondering. The fun part is that rather than being the typical gifted superheroes or villains, there’s an actual story to tell behind all of it which is to take you into the minds and lives of peculiar people. You follow them through this crazy journey where you learn all about them and the life they currently lead, which is really interesting.

This book is unlike anything I’ve ever seen, It’s filled with (sometimes creepy) vintage pictures that correspond with parts of the story as you are reading it. I found this really fascinating because it was so much fun being able to see this world through the mind of the author and I felt like I was in it. I really liked that each page has pretty borders/decals at the bottom of the page and each new chapter has a nice decorated page. It was a pretty, very unique book and I loved that reading it felt like an adventure.

If you are looking for a different read, you should pick up this book but you need to be open-minded. Reading the synopsis is always a good idea but don’t think that that’s all there is to it and don’t have set expectations for it.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

Advertisements

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on May 20, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have this in hard back and plan on reading it!

    Like

    • It’s so good and it left off in a nice way too, rather then some crazy cliffhanger (which can be super awesome sometimes). I can’t wait to read the second book, which I need to do in the near future. Any plans to read it soon? I look forward to reading what you think about it 🙂

      Like

  2. I have this one in hardback! I need to read it! Maybe around October!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (: