Review: Hostile Witness by Rebecca Forster

#5 Hostile Witness

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Hostile Witness (Witness Series #1)

Author: Rebecca Forster

Release Date/Publisher: Published November 29th 2009 (First published February 3rd 2004)

Own: Kindle (366 pages)

Finished: April 23rd 2014

Series: Witness

  1. Hostile Witness
  2. Silent Witness
  3. Privileged Witness
  4. Expert Witness
  5. Eyewitness
  6. Forgotten Witness

Synopsis from GoodReads:

When sixteen-year-old Hannah Sheraton is arrested for the murder of her stepgrandfather, the chief justice of the California Supreme court, her distraught mother turns to her old college roommate, Josie Baylor-Bates, for help. Josie, once a hot-shot criminal defense attorney, left the fast track behind for a small practice in Hermosa Beach, California. But Hannah Sheraton intrigues her and, when the girl is charged as an adult, Josie cannot turn her back. But the deeper she digs the more Josie realizes that politics, the law and family relationships create a combustible and dangerous situation. When the horrible truth is uncovered it can save Hannah Sheraton or destroy them both.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

I don’t usually read legal thrillers and when I was able to get it for free on Amazon (I found out it was a promotion; It’s now $4.42 CAD) I didn’t have high expectations but I was pleasantly surprised! I had been reading quite slowly before this book and was taking a month on average to finish one for some stupid reason but I read this in 2 weeks and It’s re-ignited a spark to read more. This author has over 25 books and I really can’t wait to keep reading the rest of this series.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

Josie is one of those characters that you instantly connect with because she’s been through hell growing up and to get where she is at now. I liked her thought process, the way she expresses things and that she’s only human and feels like we all do. My initial reaction of Linda; her friend from school and her daughter Hannah was that they are conceited and shallow. Linda turns out to be a horrible, self-centered bitch (called it!) who literally thinks she’s better then everyone and even with her own daughter. She just has this mean way about her where she “demands” things rather then ask nicely and expects it to be done NOW. Hannah I actually fell in love with pretty quickly because she copes with issues that a lot of teenagers go through like depression and self-harm. I was really impressed with the use of a mental disorder (OCD but to the extreme where she has to touch things a certain amount of times and is constantly counting) without being condescending. It’s rare for people to go there and I thought it was a good way to show the struggles people encounter and the emotional consequences.

Josie is just content leading a calm life and then everything hits her when Linda needs her help. She doesn’t initially want to defend Hannah because of things that happened in her past but she eventually folds because she see’s that Hannah really needs it. After this, most of the time is spent in the courtroom because It’s all about the trial, finding out all the details and unveiling the truth. You learn about Linda’s husband Kip (he mattered so little too me as a character because he’s such a cold-hearted asshole) and everyone involved in their lives because they get put under a microscope. The story is intense and every time you think you know who did it, it takes you by surprise and the focus shifts onto someone else which made it an exciting read.

Anyone who enjoys reading legal or murder books with court proceedings should give this book a shot. I kept the details at a minimum in this review because the book has so many different things going on and It’s worth reading to figure it all out because I really enjoyed it.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on June 4, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I remember seeing this on amazon for .99 cents or something. I regret not getting it since I read your review.

    Like

  2. That’s understandable because you never know, sometimes free or cheap books aren’t the best. It may go back on sale so you could have your chance in the future. It was a good read and I’m so happy I gave it a shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (: