Review: Stolen by Kelley Armstrong

#6 Stolen

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Stolen (Women of the Otherworld #2)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published August 25th 2009 by Vintage Canada (First published December 24th 2002)

Own: Trade Paperback (480 pages)

Finished: May 10th 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Even though she’s the world’s only female werewolf, Elena Michaels is just a regular girl at heart — with larger than normal appetites. She sticks to three feasts a day, loves long runs in the moonlight, and has a lover who is unbelievable frustrating yet all the more sexy for his dark side. Like every regular girl, she certainly doesn’t believe in witches. Then again, when two small, ridiculously feminine women manage to hurl her against a wall, and then save her from the hunters on her tail, Elena realizes that maybe there are more things in heaven and earth than she’s dreamt of.

Vampires, demons, shamans, witches — in Stolen they all exist, and they’re all under attack. An obsessed tycoon with a sick curiosity is well on his way to amassing a private collection of supernaturals, and plans to harness their powers for himself — even if it means killing them. For Elena, kidnapped and imprisoned deep underground, separated from her Pack, unable to tell her friends from her enemies, choosing the right allies is a matter of life and death.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

I love, love, love this book! It may be my favourite in the Otherworld series by Kelley because there’s werewolves, witches, half-demons and shamans which is amazing. There was a while most books would focus only on one supernatural being but I remember when I initially read this I was super excited when I realized the whole series was about all kinds of supernaturals!

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

Elena was the main focus again but a lot of new characters were introduced and we learn all about their crazy and awesome powers. The first new characters you meet are the witches; Paige and Ruth, when the werewolves learn they aren’t the only supernatural beings in existence. Then you meet Cassandra and here’s the thing; I love vampires in books, It’s the supernaturals that I seek out more then any other but what I enjoyed is how much the only vampire so far is such a boring, reserved and stuck-up bitch. It doesn’t make much sense but I loved the fact that I didn’t like the vampire in this because It shows that even if it’s something that you’re always interested in, the characters in this series are so compelling that they outweigh the preference of a certain supernatural creature. Once you really get into the main story line, you meet the twisted son of a bitch Ty Winsloe who has all the control because he has a lot of money. He uses people as his little puppets to treat everyone like crap without any remorse and It’s really annoying.

I was super excited to see where the story would lead us because just the idea of having all these beings in a laboratory/compound where they get to be tested, harassed all while being watched is fun because it’s a different perspective. There’s still fighting and violence but it’s completely different then the regular story of them kicking ass out in the world. They are all fighting for their survival because they know, any minute they could get picked and discarded like nothing. Some of the others captured seem way too complacent and they  take it all in while making themselves as comfortable as possible, which is insane to me. So many times I was screaming inside my head, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! Run, scream, swear, do something!

This is yet another story proving how much of a genius Kelley Armstrong is. I love that this series has so much variety in it that anyone (who likes paranormal books) would find something enjoyable about it. So, jump in and read this because you will not regret it!

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on June 18, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

