Life of a Blogger #4: School

lifeofblogger

Life of a Blogger is a weekly
meme hosted by Jessi at Novel Heartbeat. Each week she will choose a subject (scheduled in advance) NovelHeartbeat
and all participating bloggers will talk about that part of their life. The topics will be non-bookish and it will give me a chance to talk about me and my life so that you can get to know me better on a more personal level.

This post usually comes out on Thursday but I’ve chosen to do it on Monday instead. I will be catching up on the older posts of this meme every 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month on “Catch up Wednesday’s: Life of a Blogger”.

rating-icon

Last week’s topic was: Collections

school

Everyone else has their straight-forward; college and university stories but I don’t because I dealt with so much bullshit due to my anxiety and this is a complicated post for me because I’ve had it since I was a child. If I just talk about my education without the back-story, it makes me feel/look like a lazy and unmotivated loser. Everyone has their problems, mine have just completely consumed my entire life. My anxiety got worst when I was around 12-13 years old because I was bullied really bad and…

  • I ended up being home-schooled for a few months (it was a huge fight to even get it) 2 years in a row.
  • When I started high school, after fighting with doctors, schools and everyone my whole life, they finally diagnosed me as having severe Agoraphobia, Panic disorder and depression… (I could name 5 more disorders I suffer from, associated with this but I’m limiting it) That FINALLY proved I wasn’t lying (which, to this day, was the biggest relief of my life) and I dropped out of school. They never bothered me about education again and I put it off completely until I was 18.
  • For a couple years, I attempted to get my high school diploma through on-line courses, attending a unit-based adult high school and last year I went to another adult high school, which I did about a month of before quitting because of a back injury I have. (I’ve since been in physiotherapy and I’m much better!)

For the first time ever, I’m seriously considering college and signing up to do my prerequisites starting July/August for about 6 months, to become a Veterinary Technician. If I get in, I’ll be attending college for 2 years in September 2015 and I’m super excited! I love animals and this course is more science/medical based, which is great. I’m only able to consider this because I’ve learned to (sometimes) better control my anxiety, but mainly because, my younger brother and husband will be attending the same college at the same time as me and I got my driver’s license 2 months ago with which I plan on getting a car in a few months to drive to school.

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on June 23, 2014, in Features and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s tough to talk about personal things, but good for you for getting it out there. And I hope we can maybe hang out a bit in the fall at school, it’ll be fun! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

