Review: Airel by Aaron Patterson

8177852

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Airel (The Airel Saga #1)

Author: Aaron Patterson

Release Date/Publisher: Published August 31st 2011 by StoneHouse Ink (First published May 1st 2011)

Own: Kindle (186 pages)

Finished: May 12th 2014

Series: Airel Saga

  1. Airel: The Awakening
  2. Airel: The Discovering
  3. Michael: The Curse
  4. Michael: The Mark
  5. Uriel: The Inheritance
  6. Uriel: The Price

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

All Airel ever wanted was to be normal, to disappear into the crowd. But bloodlines can produce surprises, like an incredible ability to heal. Then there’s Michael Alexander, the new guy in school, who is impossibly gorgeous…and captivated by her. Somewhere in the back of her mind, she can hear the sound of pages turning, and another, older story being written. It is the story of an ancient family, of great warriors, of the Sword of Light, and the struggle against an evil so terrible, so far-reaching, that it threatens everything. Airel knew change would be an inevitable part of life. But can she hold on when murder and darkness begin to close in and take away everything she loves? Will she have what it takes when the truth is finally revealed?

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

The name of the book is what initially caught my attention because I like when people’s names are spelled differently and sound unique. I love dark/Gothic cover art and this one just made me fall in love with it. I enjoyed reading this; the style in which the author writes is the way I phrase things and think. It was over faster then I thought it would be, unfortunately and I cannot wait to read the other books in this series.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

Despite this being about Airel who is 17 and in high school, I didn’t feel like it was a high school focused book because it was actually mature, which a lot of authors seem to have issues doing. Airel is a pretty girl who suffers from a bit of a low self esteem and doesn’t think she’s pretty. She leads a stable life, going through it without being noticed that much and has no experience with boys mainly because of a lack of interest in them. Her best friend and popular girl Kim, is the completely opposite; she is absolutely boy crazy and flirts with them all the time. I liked Airel because the way she thinks seems similar to me, she’s funny at times and I just found her personality to be cute.

Basically Airel meets Michael who she instantly feels a draw towards because she finds him attractive, charming and he seems like he’s equally intrigued with her as well. Not long after meeting him she begins throwing up all of the time and any wounds she gets instantly heal before her eyes. Her reactions to how she heals were priceless, most people would freak out but she just went with it and double-checked by repeating whatever caused the injury in the first place, which was funny.

I liked that we got a lot of back-story with this and that it wasn’t just about “Oh my god, he’s so cute”. The story really goes into details about all the things Airel feels and is going through. You are taken along this fun story where honestly most of the time you have no clue why these things are happening.
The story did go back into the past multiple times to hint towards why this is happening to her. It really appeared more than anything as though it was a build-up for future books and it didn’t really explain anything that was happening at this time.

Then, cue the worst cliff hanger ever to end it! I like cliff-hangers and I’m not saying I hated it, just that it frustrated me because just as you’re finally getting more into the details of what the heck is going on…. DONE! So, yeah I really can’t wait to read the next book.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

