Review: Dime Store Magic by Kelley Armstrong

#7 Dime Store Magic

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld #3)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published August 25th 2009 by Vintage Canada (first published February 19th 2004)

Own: Trade Paperback (394  pages)

Finished: May 18th 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Forget the cackling green hag in The Wizard of Oz, forget Samantha from Bewitched. Real witches are nothing, NOTHING like this. For years real witches have hidden their powers, afraid of being persecuted. They have integrated so well into the community, you could have a witch living right next door and never know about it. Take Paige, for instance, whom we first met in Kelley Armstrong’s novel Stolen. Just an ordinary twenty-something who runs her own website design company, worries about her weight and wonders if she’ll ever find a boyfriend. Okay, so she’s leader of the American Coven and guardian of Savannah, the teenage daughter of a black witch. Really, life is ordinary. But then a telekinetic half-demon, Leah O’Donnell, shows up to fight for custody of Savannah. And although Paige is ready for her, she’s not quite so prepared for the team of supernaturals that Leah brings with her, including a powerful sorcerer who claims to be Savannah’s father.

When all hell breaks loose — literally — and Paige is accused of witchcraft, Satanism and murder, the Coven, fearing exposure, abandons her. Cut off from her friends, Paige is forced against her better judgment to accept the help of a young sorcerer lawyer. And she quickly comes to realize that keeping Savannah could mean losing everything else.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

This is the second time I’ve read this book (and most of the series) and the second book I’ve read for Bout of Books 10. I spent hours at a time reading to finish this book, just so I could complete my goal of 2 books in a week and I did! As far as I’m concerned, I’m never going to give any Kelley Armstrong books less than 5 stars because her writing style just speaks to me and I NEVER find anything I don’t like about any of her stories. Her books are absolutely addicting and this book is just as amazing as all the others.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

It’s been a year since all the things happened in Stolen and we get to learn more about Paige and Savannah. The coven disagrees with Paige taking Savannah because she has a bad temper, acts like a spoiled brat, doesn’t respect Paige due to her being too young and an “apprentice” witch. Paige is at a loss on how to handle Savannah because she was raised as a coven witch where the magic is limited. Savannah’s mother Eve practiced dark magic and now she is wanting to follow in her footsteps, which means she doesn’t respect the coven or its magic. I really enjoyed the struggle between the two of them, it made for some fun drama in the book. Leah shows up to fight her for Savannah’s custody and it just adds more problems to the stability Paige is trying to achieve in their lives. I didn’t like Leah much in Bitten because she was a bitch so, I knew it would be a good story. You get introduced to Lucas who seems super nerdy but damn sexy for some odd reason! Haha, I love him so much as a character and he sounds so cute with his proper and “must be absolutely perfect” English.

There’s many new and interesting things in this book, along with mysteries being elaborated on from Stolen. Sorcerers become a big part of the story and it turns out that they really do despise witches and find them a nuisance. Paige gets accused of all kinds of things but the worst thing for a witch is to be accused of being one and having that advertised to the world. She begins having mobs sitting outside of her house night and day who are just looking for an excuse to get violent. This is where the Cabal is introduced and I really like that this is part of the story because it adds a whole other aspect of danger to it all. The cabal is an organization you don’t want to mess with and they of course get directly involved with them. I enjoy stories with that sort of theme because it usually adds a lot of interesting factors to the story. Needless to say, I loved it and it’s another must read!

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on July 15, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nobody has read this series and it’s probably my all time favourite series! I’m glad someone enjoys it as much as I did. I’m madly in love with Kelley Armstrong. Awesome review!

    Like

    • I’m right there with you! Not enough people have read this and I’m always raving about how amazing it is but most people don’t get it. She is an absolutely wonderful author and I’m madly in love with her as well. Thanks so much! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

