Review: Reign of Blood by Alexia Purdy

#6 Reign of Blood

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Reign of Blood (Reign of Blood #1)

Author: Alexia Purdy

Release Date/Publisher: Published April 27th 2012 by Lyrical Lit. Publishing

Own: Kindle (319)

Finished: May 23rd 2014

Series: Reign of Blood

  1. Reign of Blood
  2. Disarming
  3. Amplified

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Never tease anything that wants to eat you.

My name is April Tate and my blood is the new gold. Vampires and hybrids have overrun my world, once vibrant with life, but now a graveyard of death shrouded in shadows. I fight to survive; I fight for my mother and brother. The journey is full of turns that I am quite unprepared for. And I’m just hoping to make it to the next Vegas sunrise…”

In a post-apocalyptic world, a viral epidemic has wiped out most of the earth’s population, leaving behind few humans but untold numbers of mutated vampires. April is a seventeen-year-old girl who lives in the remains of Las Vegas one year after the outbreak. She has become a ferocious vampire killer and after her family is abducted, she goes searching for them. What she finds is a new breed of vampire, unlike any she has seen before. Unsure of whom she can trust, she discovers that her view of the world is not as black and white as she once thought, and she’s willing to bend the rules to rescue her family. But in trying to save them, she may only succeed in bringing her fragile world crashing down around her.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

I was genuinely sad when I finished this because I rarely love books as much as I did this one. A lot of times, people complain about the editing and grammar mistakes when it’s an independent author but this book was perfectly fine. I was surprised at how fast I read it and I just bought the next 2 books in the series, last week. I also received her “A Dark Faerie Tale Series Omnibus Edition” directly from the author to review so I’m super excited because it will be my first time doing this and since I absolutely loved this book, it’s perfect!

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

The start was a little slow initially, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it because there wasn’t much going on but once you get a little further into the story, you realize that it was just to build up the characters back-story. April is the main focal point the entire way through and it’s written from her perspective. I liked her a lot because she’s young but she’s had a hard couple of years which, have made her mature and super bad ass. She’s obsessed with her arsenal of weapons and is really good at what she does. She lives/survives with her mom and little brother who you don’t learn too much about, except that she absolutely adores them and would do anything for them which is what happens when they get kidnapped.

Their lives revolved around scavenging for supplies in order to survive and killing off the loads of feral vampires they encounter. Things quickly escalate when her mom and brother disappear and she spends days searching for them but she has no clue what happened or where they went. One day she gets caught in a bad situation where a vampire comes to her aid and April is dumbfounded when the it speaks because that’s unheard of. She is brought into their underground world where there are a hundreds of them, she learns that they are hybrid vampires and that another hybrid vampire group has kidnapped her family. I liked the concept that humans are basically extinct because it’s usually the other way around. The vampire hybrids agree to help her retrieve her family, as long as she helps them out with certain things which adds a great part to the story.

When she meets Rye for the firs time; I was literally excited! He’s a super sexy hybrid with a stone-cold expression that makes her flustered and constantly stare at him. My favourite parts were when he was in it because it was intriguing, it got to certain points where I almost wanted to skip ahead just to read about him. Other than that, a lot of the story is about fighting, rather than regular (whiny) human problems, which made it entertaining the whole time.

The story leaves you off on a cliffhanger, I had to double-check just to make sure that there really are other books. It seemed like it could have easily ended there but it would have been  a depressing ending because… there has to be more!!! One thing I was thinking through the entire book was how much the feral vampires reminded me of zombies which, was totally different and pretty cool. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a book with a different outlook on vampires.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on July 29, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. We need to figure out how to lend each other Kindle books (I’ve heard it can be done) so I can read this, it sounds really good, and I’m glad you liked it so much!

    Like

  2. Love your blog, you clearly have a very unique genre that you’re interested in reading.
    I’m a 17 year old aspiring English literature student and I’ve just started my own book reviewing blog! Because i’m quite new to this, I am almost completely in the dark about what it takes to run a good blog! i would be SO SO grateful for some feedback, of any kind, even if its critical! (i almost welcome criticism!)
    Sorry for all the shameless self-promotion, and good luck with your blog!!

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m a fairly new blogger myself and I’m also trying to figure out what it takes to run a good blog, so I can’t be much help to you there. All I know is that I get more views and comments when I participate in features and read-a-thons; people enjoy those. It’s fine and good luck with yours as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

