Featured Interview on Spines and Covers

This is my first post besides my absolute first post ever; that isn’t a review, meme or Read-A-Thon post. Yay, me! Haha.

So, I’ve recently been asked to take part in a blogs new feature; called “Meet a Book Blogger“, where Samantha from Spines and Covers interviews bloggers, a few times a month.

I wanted to share it with everyone and thank Samantha for featuring and interviewing me, I had fun answering all the questions!

Here’s  the interview and please check out her blog! 🙂 unnamed-2_zps2f6c8728

Today we will be getting to know Jo from The Dark Reading Room!

Untitled

blackdots

What is your name and the name of your blog

My name is Jo and my blog is The Dark Reading Room.

Describe your book blog

My blog is my own little world where, I share what I’m reading, post reviews on books I read and participate in meme’s. I mainly review YA or new adult books because, that’s my real passion for reading and not much else intrigues me quite as much. I enjoy participating in meme’s that tell my followers a bit more about who I am, I find it important that I’m not just a mysterious person behind the computer screen, I want it to be more personable.

What made you decide to start book blogging

Initially, it was my best friend, who is also a blogger. I noticed how many followers she had, how much fun and involved she was in the blogging world and I really wanted to be a part of that. I read a lot as well (maybe not so much lately) and it seemed like a good fit for my personality as a hobby. I also wanted to connect with like-minded people with similar interests to socialize because I never really had that.

How long have you been blogging

It just passed the 4 month mark on the 11th of August so, I’m still fairly new.

What are some of your favorite book blogs

My best friend Kelsey’s blog!:  http://kelseysclutteredbookshelf.wordpress.com/

A friend on Twitter:  http://thebrokenshelf.wordpress.com/

One of the blogs that hosts a meme I’ve been doing for a few months(Feature and Follow): http://www.parajunkee.com/

A really awesome blog that does a meme I had to stop for a bit (Life of a blogger):  http://novelheartbeat.com/

What’s your favorite part about book blogging

I love being able to read a book and go in-depth about why I liked it or not in a review because, I get to read other people’s thoughts as well. Something that’s equally my favourite part about blogging is; being able to participate in meme’s because it’s done so frequently and it gives me something random to focus on for a bit.

Some favorite authors

Kelley Armstrong (Otherworld)

P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast (House of Night)

Anne Rice (Vampire Chronicles)

Stephanie Meyer (Twilight, no matter how much hate she got)

Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy)

E-books or physical books

I will ALWAYS prefer my physical books, the feel I get from holding an actual book in my hands and settling in to read, is just the best feeling ever.

What are some of your favorite books read so far this year

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Reign of Blood by Alexia Purdy

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

What’s your biggest bookish pet peeve

I could probably lose it over someone bending the spine, folding or damaging the pages and ruining the front and back cover on my books. I don’t understand why those kinds of things happen and it makes me so mad, haha. I have a few more but that’s the main one.

Can you give one blogging tip for newer book bloggers

Don’t worry too much about what anyone will think. When I first started blogging (sometimes it still happens but rarely), I would not post on others people’s blogs because I got intimated by the amounts of comments there were or how popular the blog was or even how GOOD the blog looked. I was scared of being rejected, ridiculed or ignored. I force myself all the time now to comment on them and almost every time, I get a response and the person is super nice and cool. It’s hard putting yourself out there, even if it’s online but most people are actually really welcoming!

Favorite beverage or snack when reading

I usually read when I’m in bed so water for me, I rarely eat when I read but if I do I’m alternating between reading a line and eating a bite of cereal, haha.

Favorite reading spot

I know I’m repeating but this response fit into the last one! In bed but… if I had to choose another spot, it would be the bus on my way to school because I just ignore the entire world and get lost in my book, which is the best thing that can happen because I hate buses.
blackdots
I want to thank Jo for taking part in the Meet a Book Blogger feature! :grin:
About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on August 16, 2014, in News and Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for mentioning me. 🙂 we do tweet a lot. But that’s cause we have a ton in common. 🙂

    Like

  2. I type something then log in and it can’t even remembered what I typed! Stupid wordpress! Ugh. Sorry. I had this big comment about how awesome you are for mentioning me. 🙂 and how we are twitter friends Bc we have a crap ton in common!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

