Review: First Visions by Heather Topham Wood

#11 First Vision

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: First Visions (Second Sight #1)

Author: Heather Topham Wood

Release Date/Publisher: Published May 1st 2012 by Wood (first published April 27th 2012)

Own: Kindle (230 pages)

Finished: June 10th 2014

Series: Second Sight

  1. First Vision
  2. New Revelations
  3. Dark Premonitions
  4. The Final Omen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Two years ago, 21-year-old Kate Edwards became deathly ill and slipped into a coma. While unconscious, she crept into the mind of a missing boy and awoke with the knowledge of his location. Friends and family were skeptical and wary of her new ability to see into the minds of others. Their fears prompted Kate to keep her psychic powers a secret. Feeling alienated, she dropped out of college and spent most of her days holed up at her mother’s home.

Now another child has been abducted. Police detective Jared Corbett seeks out Kate for her help in solving the case. Reluctantly, Kate agrees and they must work together to bring 8-year-old Cori Preston home to her family. Although attracted to one another, Jared has a girlfriend with ties to the abduction case and Kate is sarcastic and guarded since her coma. With visions she can’t control and an uncontrollable attraction to the detective, she wonders if she can leave the past behind and finally stop hiding from the world. Otherwise, Cori may be lost forever.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

This review is one day late, sorry! I’ve been so busy trying to keep up with school that I got sidetracked and forgot to schedule it. I got this book for free on Amazon which is awesome. I may have a small (big lol) addiction to getting free books on Amazon, but at least I get to read all kinds of books this way! I’ve been alternating with a physical copy of what I own, and something I have on my Kindle, so it works for me and I get through everything. Anyway, I’m happy I got this book because it was a decent amount of pages, and I read it in a couple of days. I was into it almost the entire way through (besides the start, which I’ll explain in my review) so it was a good read.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

When I started this book, I didn’t like Katie, AT ALL. My first GoodReads update about this book was: “First impression: Katie is such a childish and stubborn brat! Looks good so far though.” I liked the “idea” of the story but I wasn’t sure if I’d like the story… She grew on me very quickly after this update, and then I was hooked. There was a lot of similarities between me and her, like the extreme social anxiety she suffers from and the close relationship with her mom. There’s no way not to understand why she is this way, she’s gone through pure hell and has been forced to lock herself up at home for 2 years. Most people would do that and as anti-social/cut off from the world as she was, at least she tried to move on. She’s very sarcastic, stubborn and immature but she’s really nice to those who treat her right. Her mom is her best friend, she is understanding and lets her do what she want but unfortunately; that allows Katie to stay in her own little world with her secret. When she first met Jared, I was super excited and he turned out to be funny, polite and  flirty (initially with her mom which was really funny) and once she starts falling for him, the book just gets so much better!

She’s constantly denying she’s psychic and is surprised that someone is bringing that up all over again. When she met Jared, (when she didn’t know who he was or what he wanted) she is friendly with a huge smile on her face but she turns mean quick once he says why he’s there. From that point on she’s trying to communicate with Cori by focusing on her all the time and not trying to fall for Jared, who is dating Cori’s sister. Nikki, (Jared’s girlfriend) is an evil bitch, she was a skeptic, and just started getting really jealous of Katie, then ends up going nuts,  and turning into a psycho girlfriend. I do get why, because if anyone was like that with my husband, I’d beat the shit out of them… but this being a book and me cheering for Katie, this chick was obnoxious! There’s a lot of things against Katie, she is definitely not having an easy time of it and things just keep getting worse, but I liked how she discovers many things about herself and chooses to change for the better, once given a chance.

I really enjoyed the ending because it was entertaining and then it wasn’t left on a cliffhanger! This was a good book and as much as it didn’t focus on the psychic stuff ALL THE TIME, I think it was a great way to begin the series.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

Advertisements

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on August 27, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I read this one a while back for a book tour and I think I remember liking it, will have to check my review later. I’m glad you liked it though even if you didn’t like her character at first. I really need to continue this series too, can’t wait to see what you think of the next one!

    Like

    • That’s awesome. I looked at your review and you liked it too at least. Haha, ya there’s just some characters that I don’t connect with sometimes but I did after a bit at least. I can’t wait to read the next one as well!

      Like

  2. It sounded good, until you said what the main character is like. I’m glad she became more likable, but I’m not sure I would have stuck with it that long. Good for you 🙂

    Like

    • The story was good though so it was really worth sticking it out. If it hadn’t been, I wouldn’t have been able to keep reading it. I really hope me saying that doesn’t ruin the book because it was a great book.
      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

%d bloggers like this: