Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong

#12 Haunted

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Haunted (Women of the Otherworld #5)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published January 26th 2010 by Vintage Canada (first published January 1st 2005)

Own: Trade Paperback (464 pages)

Finished: June 21st 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Eve Levine — half-demon, black witch and devoted mother — has been dead for three years. She has a great house, an interesting love life and can’t be killed again — which comes in handy when you’ve made as many enemies as Eve. Yes, the afterlife isn’t too bad — all she needs to do is find a way to communicate with her daughter, Savannah, and she’ll be happy.

But fate — or more exactly, the Fates — have other plans. Eve owes them a favor, and they’ve just called it in. An evil spirit called the Nix has escaped from hell. She feeds on chaos and death, and is very good at persuading people to kill for her. The Fates want Eve to hunt her down before she does any more damage, but the Nix is a dangerous enemy — previous hunters have been driven insane in the process. As if that’s not problem enough, the only way to stop her is with an angel’s sword. And Eve is no angel….

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

This review should have been put up last week but I lost track of everything and forgot to schedule and post it, oops! I was so excited when I got to this book because I couldn’t wait to read Eve’s story. You don’t get to know her well enough to be able to get a proper grasp on who she is, until this book. Plus, she’s a half-demon witch who practices black magic, that’s right up my alley of awesome. I had such a busy week and a half around the time I was reading this book and I wasn’t able to get in bed before late so I spent most nights reading until almost 3 AM. Considering I don’t go to sleep late it just shows I really liked this book enough to do this.

rating-iconReview:rating-icon

It was so refreshing getting to know the real Eve, rather then just the rumors and opinions from other people. She’s made out to be purely evil, hard and emotionless that when I first read this book I expected not to like her at all. It’s so different from that, she did what she had to do in order to raise her daughter Savannah and survive. She stands her ground and kick most people’s ass, which is awesome. When she dies, she goes into the ghost world and finds Kris (her ex and Savannah’s father) and they have some sort of love-hate relationship going on. From reading Dime Store Magic, I didn’t really like him, he just seemed like a rich asshole who didn’t care who’s toes he stepped on, as long as he got what he wanted. As you learn in the ghost world, he’s actually a pretty cool guy, very caring and is still absolutely in love with Eve. They both have a lot of regrets in terms of their relationship and It’s just fun seeing that play out now what they’re both dead.

Eve spends most of her time getting in trouble due to various things and trying to get in contact with Savannah. When the fates ask her for help, deep down, she’s hoping this is a way to get into contact with Savannah. You get to meet Eve’s new partner; Trsiel (weird ass name!), who’s a full-blooded angel. They go off on this crazy mission to kill the Nyx (demi-god bitch, as Eve so politely puts it) which gets a little crazy as Eve is getting into battles left and right. Along the way you learn about a new race; Magicians and there’s one part that I won’t spoil but it involves a magician and a dark cave… I could have sworn that this was Hills Have Eyes (movie) because it was just so creepy. We get to catch up with Paige, Lucas and Savannah randomly through the book because Eve is stalking them and then Jamie for a bit near the end, which is always nice to read updates on other characters.

It’s one of the more action-packed novels but it was a little different because of the ghost world, which I really enjoyed. The description, all the rules and most of all; The Fates, were so well done and how it all plays into it was such a cool twist, it just made the book so much better.

Rating:

rating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-iconrating-icon

Advertisements

About The Dark Reading Room

I LOVE reading and I have hundreds of awesome books on my bookshelf. I started blogging so I could connect with like-minded people and share my thoughts on what I read with others. I’m pretty open minded when it comes to reading, I enjoy reading anything like; true crime, biographies and so on but my favourite genre is YA paranormal books. Non-book related things: I’m a metalhead, I love going to concerts, some of my favourite TV shows are Supernatural, True Blood, Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Firefly... I’m a hardcore gamer and play games like COD, Halo, Gears of War, Borderlands, Final Fantasy, The Last of Us, Dead Rising and much more!

Posted on September 16, 2014, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

%d bloggers like this: