Blog Archives

Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

#14 Cruel Beauty

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe)

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Release Date/Publisher: Published January 28th 2014 by Balzer + Bray

Borrowed: Trade Paperback (342 pages)

Finished: July 12th 2014

Series: Cruel Beauty Universe

  1. Cruel Beauty
  2. Gilded Ashes

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong

#12 Haunted

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Haunted (Women of the Otherworld #5)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published January 26th 2010 by Vintage Canada (first published January 1st 2005)

Own: Trade Paperback (464 pages)

Finished: June 21st 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Eve Levine — half-demon, black witch and devoted mother — has been dead for three years. She has a great house, an interesting love life and can’t be killed again — which comes in handy when you’ve made as many enemies as Eve. Yes, the afterlife isn’t too bad — all she needs to do is find a way to communicate with her daughter, Savannah, and she’ll be happy.

But fate — or more exactly, the Fates — have other plans. Eve owes them a favor, and they’ve just called it in. An evil spirit called the Nix has escaped from hell. She feeds on chaos and death, and is very good at persuading people to kill for her. The Fates want Eve to hunt her down before she does any more damage, but the Nix is a dangerous enemy — previous hunters have been driven insane in the process. As if that’s not problem enough, the only way to stop her is with an angel’s sword. And Eve is no angel….

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

%d bloggers like this: