Blog Archives

Review: First Visions by Heather Topham Wood

#11 First Vision

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: First Visions (Second Sight #1)

Author: Heather Topham Wood

Release Date/Publisher: Published May 1st 2012 by Wood (first published April 27th 2012)

Own: Kindle (230 pages)

Finished: June 10th 2014

Series: Second Sight

  1. First Vision
  2. New Revelations
  3. Dark Premonitions
  4. The Final Omen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Two years ago, 21-year-old Kate Edwards became deathly ill and slipped into a coma. While unconscious, she crept into the mind of a missing boy and awoke with the knowledge of his location. Friends and family were skeptical and wary of her new ability to see into the minds of others. Their fears prompted Kate to keep her psychic powers a secret. Feeling alienated, she dropped out of college and spent most of her days holed up at her mother’s home.

Now another child has been abducted. Police detective Jared Corbett seeks out Kate for her help in solving the case. Reluctantly, Kate agrees and they must work together to bring 8-year-old Cori Preston home to her family. Although attracted to one another, Jared has a girlfriend with ties to the abduction case and Kate is sarcastic and guarded since her coma. With visions she can’t control and an uncontrollable attraction to the detective, she wonders if she can leave the past behind and finally stop hiding from the world. Otherwise, Cori may be lost forever.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

#4 Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Release Date/Publisher: Published June 4th 2013 by Quirk Books (First published in 2011)

Own: Trade Paperback (352 pages)

Finished: April 7th 2014

Series:

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)

Synopsis from GoodReads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Chain Letter by Christopher Pike

#3 Chain Letter

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Title: Chain Letter

Author: Christopher Pike

Release Date/Publisher: Published July 23rd 2013 by Simon Pulse (First Published May 1st 1986 by Avon)

Own: Trade Paperback (252 pages)

Finished: February 12th 2014

Series:

  1. Chain Letter
  2. The Ancient Evil

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

When Alison first read the chain letter signed “Your Caretaker,” she thought it was some terrible sick joke. Someone, somewhere knew about that awful night when she and six other friends committed an unthinkable crime in the desolate California desert. And now that person was determined to make them pay for it. One by one, the chain letter was coming to each of them … demanding dangerous, impossible deeds… threatening violence if the demands were not met. No one out of the seven wanted to believe that this nightmare was really happening to them. Until the accidents started happening — and the dying…

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

%d bloggers like this: