Blog Archives

Review: A Dark Faerie Tale Series Omnibus by Alexia Purdy

18992088

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

This Omnibus was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. I decided to write a review for each book individually.

Title: A Dark Faerie Tale Series Omnibus Edition

Author: Alexia Purdy

Published: July 7th 2013 by Lyrical Lit. Publishing

Own (Review Copy): Kindle (588 pages)

Started: July 29, 2014

Finished: September 16, 2014

Series:

  1. Evangeline
  2. Ever Shade
  3. Ever Fire
  4. Ever Winter
  5. The Cursed
  6. Ever Wrath (not included in Omnibus)

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Shade is thrown into the Land of Faerie when she meets a mysterious Teleen warrior, made of fire and electricity. Sent on a journey to obtain a rare magic only she can wield to save the Seelie forces against the Unseelie armies, she discovers her unique inner magic and possibly a difficult choice in love.

The Unseelie Queen Aveta is not one to trifle with. She hunts Shade down for her own devices and will destroy everything Shade loves to get what she wants.

After barely escaping the clutches of the Unseelie and stripped of her newfound magic, Shade journeys to the Ice Kingdom, The Great Divide, to hopefully retrieve her bound up powers from an Ancient Faerie King named Corb− but loses her memories instead. Alongside her body-guard Dylan, a former Captain of the Teleen Guard, she lays havoc to the Ice King’s fortress and forces their return to the Teleen kingdom. Hurrying to reach the Southern Realm, Shade claims her rightful throne and prepares for the upcoming battle with the Unseelie army.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Gateway to Faerie by M.D. Bowden

18196232

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Gateway to Faerie (Gateway to Faerie #1)

Author: M.D. Bowden

Release Date/Publisher: Published July 15th 2013

Own: Kindle (269 pages)

Started: June 21st 2014

Finished: June 29th 2014

Series: Gateway to Faerie

  1. Gateway to Faerie
  2. Bell Stone

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Set two hundred years after the world has been destroyed by a terrifying faerie invasion, Fayth Blackman is busy studying for her final exams. She has no idea that a gateway has opened to the land of Faerie and that dark haunting creatures are filtering through into her own world. But then tragedy strikes and her life turns upside down. She finds out that she is the descendent of a powerful faerie, and that the key to closing the gateway is in her blood. She must embark on a dangerous quest to find the Bell Stone, and with it stop the world from being destroyed once more. But can she make it in time?

Follow Fayth on her quest for the Bell Stone in ‘Gateway to Faerie.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Haunted by Kelley Armstrong

#12 Haunted

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Haunted (Women of the Otherworld #5)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published January 26th 2010 by Vintage Canada (first published January 1st 2005)

Own: Trade Paperback (464 pages)

Finished: June 21st 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Eve Levine — half-demon, black witch and devoted mother — has been dead for three years. She has a great house, an interesting love life and can’t be killed again — which comes in handy when you’ve made as many enemies as Eve. Yes, the afterlife isn’t too bad — all she needs to do is find a way to communicate with her daughter, Savannah, and she’ll be happy.

But fate — or more exactly, the Fates — have other plans. Eve owes them a favor, and they’ve just called it in. An evil spirit called the Nix has escaped from hell. She feeds on chaos and death, and is very good at persuading people to kill for her. The Fates want Eve to hunt her down before she does any more damage, but the Nix is a dangerous enemy — previous hunters have been driven insane in the process. As if that’s not problem enough, the only way to stop her is with an angel’s sword. And Eve is no angel….

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: First Visions by Heather Topham Wood

#11 First Vision

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: First Visions (Second Sight #1)

Author: Heather Topham Wood

Release Date/Publisher: Published May 1st 2012 by Wood (first published April 27th 2012)

Own: Kindle (230 pages)

Finished: June 10th 2014

Series: Second Sight

  1. First Vision
  2. New Revelations
  3. Dark Premonitions
  4. The Final Omen

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Two years ago, 21-year-old Kate Edwards became deathly ill and slipped into a coma. While unconscious, she crept into the mind of a missing boy and awoke with the knowledge of his location. Friends and family were skeptical and wary of her new ability to see into the minds of others. Their fears prompted Kate to keep her psychic powers a secret. Feeling alienated, she dropped out of college and spent most of her days holed up at her mother’s home.

Now another child has been abducted. Police detective Jared Corbett seeks out Kate for her help in solving the case. Reluctantly, Kate agrees and they must work together to bring 8-year-old Cori Preston home to her family. Although attracted to one another, Jared has a girlfriend with ties to the abduction case and Kate is sarcastic and guarded since her coma. With visions she can’t control and an uncontrollable attraction to the detective, she wonders if she can leave the past behind and finally stop hiding from the world. Otherwise, Cori may be lost forever.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Review: Industrial Magic by Kelley Armstrong

#10 Industrial Magic

goodreads-badge-add-38px

GoodReads Status Updates

Title: Industrial Magic (Women of the Otherworld #4)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Release Date/Publisher: Published January 26th 2010 by Vintage Canada (first published October 26th 2004)

Own: Trade Paperback (528 pages)

Finished: June 7th 2014

Series: Women of the Otherworld

  1. Bitten
  2. Stolen
  3. Dime Store Magic
  4. Industrial Magic
  5. Haunted
  6. Broken
  7. No Humans Involved
  8. Personal Demon
  9. Living with the Dead
  10. Frostbitten
  11. Waking the Witch
  12. Spellbound
  13. Thirteen

 

Synopsis from GoodReads:

In the aftermath of her mother’s murder, Paige broke with the elite, ultraconservative American Coven of Witches. Now her goal is to start a new Coven for a new generation. But while Paige pitches her vision to uptight thirty-something witches in business suits, a more urgent matter commands her attention.

Someone is murdering the teenage offspring of the underworld’s most influential Cabals — a circle of families that makes the mob look like amateurs. And none is more powerful than the Cortez Cabal, a faction Paige is intimately acquainted with. Lucas Cortez, the rebel son and unwilling heir, is none other than her boyfriend. But love isn’t blind, and Paige has her eyes wide open as she is drawn into a hunt for an unnatural-born killer. Pitted against shamans, demons, and goons, it’s a battle chilling enough to make a wild young woman grow up in a hurry. If she gets the chance.

rating-iconA Little Something About Me and My Thoughts…rating-icon

Read the rest of this entry

Romance Novels for the Beach

Find out which sexy books to bring with you, or leave behind, on your next beach vacation.

Books, Cats, & Coffee

A girl with a million books and a coffee addiction

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

For the Love of the Page

Book Reviews, Book Memes, & All Around General Bookish Content

Adina's Book Blog

A book blog for readers of YA, Romance & Sci fi/Fantasy

The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

%d bloggers like this: